Why was the B2 blog born?

One day, one of my editors who was reluctant to publish one of my reports answered me, a little annoyed: " But you just put it on a blog »… In his opinion, it was rather a question of putting it in the basket. But the advice remained in the hollow of one of my ears. And when thanks to more personal events, I also discovered the ease of this instrument, from a technical point of view, as well as its power in terms of disseminating information, I started. First with a blog specializing in social issues. Then with this blog, initially focused on foreign issues and European defense which has quickly become a reference medium for deciphering geopolitical Europe.

A new form of journalism

Keeping a blog like this requires reconnecting with the journalistic practice of the beginnings with the advantages of electronics. Go on the field and behind the scenes. Focus on having the primary sources (the text when it comes to a political or legal analysis) and not just its summary for the press. Source them, compare them, criticize them, be able to correct or adapt a text already published according to current events or new elements obtained.

A privileged relationship with the reader

This instrument also underlines the importance of the direct relationship with the readers, a relationship somewhat lost in the atmosphere of an editorial office. There are readers who are both ignorant and eager to find out who ask you a seemingly innocent question but which is a real glue or makes you wonder; others demanding, skillful and wise, who teach you more than you know. This rich dialogue – through comments or meetings – is one of the unsuspected and unsuspected riches of this blog (because comments are generally rarely published).

Try to be understandable by everyone

It also forces you to be more pedagogue. All the readers are not at the same level of knowledge nor especially in the same geographical environment. They do not have the same geopolitical or historical references. So, even if we can't help “jargon” from time to time, we also take pleasure in explaining and detailing points that seem obvious.

The refusal to be restrained

This site allows you to practice all forms of journalism: reportage, editorial, small news, more complete analysis, interview... Where most editorial staff confine you to a single exercise. One can handle irony and humor like the serious or the tragic. It also allows you to do hot news like coming back a few days, or a few weeks later, when you have “digested” the event on a fact, a news item.

Well told, European stories are fascinating

How many times have I heard these comments, a bit routine, from colleagues, yet intelligent, sympathetic, but who at the helm of reputable daily newspapers, repeat to satiety: "Europe bores us", "Europe we don't understand nothing”, “there is no place”, “it has no interest”… This blog proves the contrary. There is an interest in “European stories”, And not only in the European bubble. Beyond…

In short, B2 is “real” journalism, with no doubt more risks and responsibilities… but what a pleasure!

Leave comments

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce unwanted. Learn more about how your comments data is used.

Le mot de l’éditeur

Share

Un jour, un de mes rédacteurs en chef qui rechignait à publier un de mes reportages  m’a répondu, un peu agacé : « Mais tu n’as qu’à mettre ça sur un blog »… A son sens, il s’agissait plutôt de le mettre dans la corbeille. Mais le conseil est demeuré dans le creux d’une de mes oreilles. Et quand à la faveur d’événements plus personnels, j’ai aussi découvert la facilité de cet instrument, au point de vue technique, comme de sa puissance en matière de diffusion de l’information, je me suis lancé. D’abord avec un blog spécialisé sur les questions sociales. Puis ensuite avec ce blog, initialement axé sur les questions étrangères et de défense européenne qui est devenu en peu de temps un média de référence pour décrypter l’Europe politique dans son ensemble.

Une nouvelle forme de journalisme

La tenue d’un blog comme celui-là oblige à renouer avec la pratique journalistique des débuts avec les avantages de l’électronique. Aller sur le terrain et dans les coulisses. S’attacher à avoir les sources primaires (le texte quand il s’agit d’une analyse politique ou juridique) et pas seulement son résumé pour la presse. Les sourcer, les comparer, les critiquer, pouvoir corriger ou adapter un texte déjà paru en fonction de l’actualité ou de nouveaux éléments obtenus.

Une relation privilégiée avec le lecteur

Cet instrument souligne également l’importance de la relation directe avec les lecteurs, relation un peu perdue dans l’atmosphère d’une rédaction. Il y a des lecteurs à la fois ignorants et avides de découvrir qui vous posent une question apparemment innocente mais qui est une vraie colle ou vous oblige à s’interroger ; d’autres exigeants, habiles et avisés, qui vous en apprennent plus que vous savez. Ce dialogue riche – par le biais des commentaires ou des rencontres – est une des richesses insoupçonnées et insoupçonnables de ce blog (car les commentaires sont en général rarement publiés).

Cela oblige aussi à être plus « pédago » : tous les lecteurs ne sont pas au même niveau de connaissance, ni surtout dans le même environnement géographique. Ils n’ont pas les mêmes références géopolitiques, ou historiques. Du coup, même si on ne peut s’empêcher de « jargonner » de temps à autre, le retour du bâton arrive très rapidement. Et on prend plaisir alors à expliquer, détailler des points qui paraissent évidents.

Le refus d’être bridé

Le blog permet d’exercer toutes les formes du journalisme: le reportage, l’éditorial, la petite news, l’analyse plus complète, le décryptage, l’interview… Là où la plupart des rédactions vous cantonnent dans un seul exercice. On peut manier l’ironie et l’humour comme le sérieux ou le tragique. Il permet également de faire de l’actu à chaud comme de revenir quelques jours, ou quelques semaines après, quand on a « digéré » l’événement sur un fait, une actualité.

Bien racontées, les histoires européennes passionnent

Combien de fois ai-je entendu ces commentaires, un rien routiniers, de confrères, pourtant intelligents, sympathiques, mais qui aux commandes de quotidiens réputés, répètent à satiété : « l’Europe nous emmerde », « l’Europe on n’y comprend rien », « il n’y a pas de place », « ça n’a pas d’intérêt »… Ce blog prouve le contraire. Il y a un intérêt pour les « histoires européennes »,  Et pas seulement dans la bulle européenne. Au-delà…

Bref le blog c’est du « vrai » journalisme, avec sans doute davantage de risques, de responsabilités… mais quel plaisir !

Leave a Reply

*

Share
Translate »