Blog AnalysisEEAS High Representative

120 countries will have an EU embassy on July 1

DelegCEMali.jpg(BRUSSELS2) The establishment of EU embassies continues. After an initial switch on January 1, from delegations from the European Commission to EU embassies, which involved around fifty delegations and countries, this movement grew on July 1.

In almost 120 countries, an EU embassy will exercise the role of representing Europe in the second half of 2010 (1). And 4 other embassies should “switch” on November 1: Haiti (where representation is exercised by France), Iraq (Denmark), Argentina and Jordan (Belgium).

An EU embassy in all PeSDC missions… or almost

In all countries where a PeSDC mission takes place, according to my information, the EU is therefore represented by an embassy. The only exception: the EUNAVFOR Atalanta counter-piracy mission. In Somalia there is no one (no European country is present, given the security conditions and contacts with the TFG are made in Kenya or Europe). The EU is directly present in Eritrea, Yemen, Kenya and Tanzania, as well as in India. But elsewhere, it is a member state: British in the Seychelles; Austrians in Oman and French in the Comoros.

The Palestinian territories as well as Kosovo, two “countries” where a European defense mission is taking place, are not included in this list.

Member States “ambassadors of the EU” in 40 countries

This leaves only around forty countries where representation is ensured, in turn, by a Member State – according to a rotating system that is quite complex to explain, either because there is no delegation of the EU, or for other reasons (Latin America):

– Belgium (which holds the rotating presidency in the 2nd half): Costa Rica, Cuba, United Arab Emirates, Iran, Kuwait, Libya, Qatar, Vatican;

– Germany: Brunei, Salvador, Honduras, Mongolia, New Zealand, Turkmenistan;

– Austria: Oman;

- Denmark : Nepal ;

– France: Andorra, Iceland, Bahrain, Burma, Cambodia, Comoros, Ecuador, Guatemala, Laos, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Vanuatu;

– Spain: Equatorial Guinea;

– Italy: Monaco, Panama, Paraguay, San Marino;

– Portugal: Sao Tome and Principe

– the United Kingdom: Belize, Gambia, St Lucia, Seychelles.

From Eastern countries to the forefront in three “not easy” countries

We can note that several countries that recently joined the EU assume this role of representing the 27, in “not easy” countries: Latvia in Uzbekistan, Hungary in Belarus; Romania in North Korea.

(Nb: in bold key countries at the security level or peacekeeping operations).

(Nicolas Gros-Verheyde)


Le document specifying country by country which represents the EU in the 2nd half of 2010.

To have an exact view of the diplomatic posts of the different Member States, download the other document

(1) NB: the number of delegations is slightly lower, some embassies carrying out their activity in other countries in the area: Barbados for St Christopher and Nevis or St Vincent and the Grenadines, Jamaica for the Bahamas, India for Bhutan, Fiji for Kiribati, the Marshall Islands, Micronesia and Nauru, Sri Lanka for the Maldives, etc…

(photo credit: EU delegation to Mali)

Nicolas Gros Verheyde

Chief editor of the B2 site. Graduated in European law from the University of Paris I Pantheon Sorbonne and listener to the 65th session of the IHEDN (Institut des Hautes Etudes de la Défense Nationale. Journalist since 1989, founded B2 - Bruxelles2 in 2008. EU/NATO correspondent in Brussels for Sud-Ouest (previously West-France and France-Soir).