Blog AnalysisEEAS High Representative

With whom rules Ashton (2): the Foreign Action Service (today)

(BRUSSELS2) To her role as super-diplomat, Catherine Ashton must add that of super HR director, to first of all constitute the organization chart of the future European External Action Service (EEAS), then to fill in the “boxes” with directors.

To get an idea of ​​where we're starting from, here are the current main heads of the different services, with a biography (more or less long) and their nationality. We will notice a certain presence of the British, the Dutch and the French – which is not illogical – and a little less of the Germans – which is less logical. Attention ! Some information still needs to be completed.

I. Central Services

• DG Relex (European Commission): 

The current DG Relex, Joao Vale De Almeida (Portuguese), former chief of staff of Commission President Barroso (2004-2009), is leaving for the EU embassy in Washington. In the meantime, the position can be filled by an acting general manager.

Three Deputy Directors General (DGA)


- Karel Kovanda (Czech) – responsible for CFSP, multilateral relations, North America, East Asia and the Pacific. Czech diplomat. Born in October 1944 in Gilsland, Great Britain, he graduated from the Prague School of Agriculture, has a doctorate in political science from MIT (1975) and an MBA from Pepperdine University of California (1985). A reader at the University of Southern California, he then carried out various activities from consultant at Radio Beijing to private company manager, translator or freelance journalist in the USA (1980-1990). On his return to the Czech Republic in 1991, he became head of the administrative section of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (1991-93), then political director, responsible for bilateral relations with Europe and North America. Permanent representative to the United Nations (1994-95) then to the Security Council (1996) and to the Economic and Social Council of the UN, he became vice-minister of Foreign Affairs under Vaclav Havel (1997-1998) then ambassador to the NATO in Brussels (1998-2005).

- Hughes Mingarelli (French) – responsible for Eastern Europe, South Caucasus and Central Asia, Middle East and South Mediterranean. A former member of the Reconstruction Agency in former Yugoslavia (2000-2002), responsible for Ukraine Belarus, Moldova and ex CIS relations at the DG External Relations (1999-2000), desk officer Nigeria DG Development (before 1990), at the Court of Auditors (1982-87).

- Stephen Sannino (Italian): Asia, Latin America. Italian diplomat, formerly of the Prodi cabinet. As an Italian diplomat, he held various positions, including deputy head of mission at the Italian Embassy in Belgrade (1993-1995) and head of the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) mission to of the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (2001-2002), before joining the European Commission. He joined the European Commission and the Prodi cabinet in 2002, as advisor for external relations.
and trade. He was notably the sherpa at the G8. In 2005, he was appointed director in charge of the crisis platform and representative to the COPS, within DG Relex. From 2006 to 2008, he was seconded to the Italian Prime Minister's Office as G8 Sherpa and Senior Advisor for EU and International Affairs, before returning to the Commission in 2008 as Director for Latin America.

Three directors, reporting directly to the Chief Executive Officer

– Director I (Headquarters resources, information, interinstitutional relations):
Tung Lai Margue (Luxembourgish), a former DG Justice, responsible in particular for the fight against terrorism.

– Director K (external service): Patrick Child (British), former chief of staff to Chris Patten and Benita Ferrero-Waldner (Commissioner for External Relations), DG Enlargement.

– Director L (Strategy, coordination and analysis): Gerhard Sabathil (German)

• DG E (external affairs) (Council)

directed by robert cooper (British)

– the Policy unit is headed by Helga Schmid (German)

Civil-military structures (Council and High Representative).

• The EU Military Staff (DG EUMS): General David Leakey (British) then General Ton Van Osch (Dutch), from May.

Deputy: Rear Admiral Fernando Lista (Spanish)

• The Civil-Military Directorate (CPMD): Claude-France Arnould (French). Read : Claude-France Arnould takes the helm of the new management.

• The Civil Staff (CPCC): Kees Klompenhouwer (Dutch)

• The Intelligence Center (SITCEN): William Shapcott (British), former Foreign Office diplomat.

II External delegationses

The external service – strictly speaking = the EU embassies – will be made up of EC delegations and EU delegations or even special representatives.

• EC Delegations. The Commission has around 134 delegations in third countries and candidate countries (thedirectory of delegations). Some only have a few people, others several dozen. In total, they employ nearly 5.400 people. This is already a very serious embryo for the future diplomatic service. Latest opening: Tripoli (Libya). Some countries, on the other hand, are not covered: Iran for example.

EU delegations. There are some in international organizations at the UN in Geneva and New York. It is these two missions that should merge most quickly.

To this must be added the EU's civil and military missions, which should not – as such – be part of the EEAS, but nevertheless have staff already distributed in several hot spots around the globe (Kosovo, Indian Ocean , Georgia, Afghanistan, Palestine, Congo, Guinea-Bissau Iraq).

III. Council Committees and Working Groups

These committees continue to exist and work within the Foreign Affairs Council, whose work they prepare. Only two of them are expressly provided for by the Treaties: the COPS and the Military Committee. The others are provided for by the internal regulations of the Council

– Political and Security Committee (COPS): fixed president, to be designated by the high representative, spanish ambassador waiting.

– Military Committee: General Hakan Syren (Swedish), fixed presidency for three years, elected by his peers

– ESDP and CFSP Committees (1): Spanish presidency until June 30, fixed from July 1, to be designated by the High Representative.

– Geographical committees (2): Spanish presidency until June 30, Belgian until December 31, fixed from January 1, 2011, to be designated by the High Representative.

(Nicolas Gros-Verheyde)

(1) Political-military group (PMG), civil crisis management (CIVCOM), arms policy (COARM) — as well as certain horizontal foreign policy committees (PESC): the Nicolaidais Group (which supports the CFSP, COHOM (human rights), COSCE (Osce and Council of Europe), CONUN (United Nations, CFSP protocol and administrative affairs (COADM), CODUN (arms control and disarmament ), CONOP (non-proliferation), COARM (export of conventional weapons).

(2) Geographical committees: Mashreq/Maghreb (COMAG/Mama), Central Asia and Eastern Europe (COEST), Balkans (COWEB), Middle East (COMEM'MOG), Asia Oceania (COASI), Latin America ( COLAT), Transatlantic Relations (COTRA), Africa (COATR).

Nicolas Gros Verheyde

Chief editor of the B2 site. Graduated in European law from the University of Paris I Pantheon Sorbonne and listener to the 65th session of the IHEDN (Institut des Hautes Etudes de la Défense Nationale. Journalist since 1989, founded B2 - Bruxelles2 in 2008. EU/NATO correspondent in Brussels for Sud-Ouest (previously West-France and France-Soir).

Comments closed.