B2 The Daily of Geopolitical Europe. News. Files. Reflections. Reports

News BlogEuropean policyIGC Treaties

22 States have deposited their instrument of ratification

(B2) 22 States have now filed their instrument of ratification. These are: Malta and Hungary (February 6), France (February 14), Romania (March 11), Slovenia (April 24), Bulgaria (April 28), Austria (May 13), Denmark (May 29), Latvia (June 16), Portugal (June 17), Slovakia (June 24), United Kingdom (July 16), Luxembourg (July 21), Italy (August 8), Greece (August 12), Cyprus and Lithuania (August 26 ), Netherlands (Sept 11), Estonia (Sept 23), Finland (Sept 30), Spain (October 8), Belgium (Oct 15).

Two States which have more or less completed the parliamentary procedure have not deposited their instrument of ratification: Germany (we are awaiting the opinion of the Constitutional Court), Estonia, Poland (the President of the Republic Lech Kaczyński, has to be prayed for).

Two states did not finish their parliamentary ratification procedure: Sweden, Czech Republic (we await the opinion of the Constitutional Court, scheduled for November 10).

One State expressed a negative vote (referendum): Ireland.

NB: it is not until the 27th Member State depositing its ratification that the Treaty of Lisbon enters into force (the month following the last deposit).

Original article written on July 18, updated on September 10st - Photo credit: European Commission


Nicolas Gros Verheyde

Chief editor of the B2 site. Graduated in European law from the University of Paris I Pantheon Sorbonne and listener to the 65th session of the IHEDN (Institut des Hautes Etudes de la Défense Nationale. Journalist since 1989, founded B2 - Bruxelles2 in 2008. EU/NATO correspondent in Brussels for Sud-Ouest (previously West-France and France-Soir).