B2 The Daily of Geopolitical Europe. News. Files. Reflections. Reports

News BlogEuropean policyIGC Treaties

Lisbon Treaty: Luxembourg 13th to submit its ratification

(B2) With Luxembourg (July 21), thirteen States have now filed their instrument of ratification. These are: Malta and Hungary (February 6), France (February 14), Romania (March 11), Slovenia (April 24), Bulgaria (April 28), Austria (May 13), Denmark (May 29), Latvia (June 16), Portugal (June 17), Slovakia (June 24), United Kingdom (July 16).

Explanation: this figure seems lower than the figures announced - elsewhere in particular by the European Commission (which mentions 24 ratifications). But it is the only one that is legally valid. The only formality, which has legal force for a text of international law, is, in fact, the filing of the act of ratification. And it is only with the 27th Member State depositing its ratification that the Treaty of Lisbon comes into force (the month following the last deposit - and at the earliest on January 1, 2009).

A dozen states that have more or less completed the parliamentary procedure (Cf. carte of the European Commission) have thus not deposited their instrument of ratification. Sometimes it is only a matter of the delay in completing the formality (transmission from the national Parliament, signature of the Head of State, transmission to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs), sometimes the delay has a more important reason, of a more political or legal. According to my accounts, these are: Belgium, Cyprus, Germany (we are awaiting the opinion of the Constitutional Court), Spain, Estonia, Finland (there was a problem with the semi-autonomous islands of Aaland, it will be settled in September, it is said in Helsinki), Greece, Italy, Lithuania, the Netherlands, Poland (the President of the Republic Lech Kaczyński, in permanent bickering with his Prime Minister, Donald Tusk, is made to pray to sign the deed).

Two states did not finish their parliamentary ratification procedure: Sweden, Czech Republic (we expect the opinion of the Constitutional Court in the autumn).

One State expressed a negative vote
(referendum): Ireland.

(Nicolas Gros-Verheyde)

Original article written on July 18, updated on July 31 - Photo credit: European Commission

Nicolas Gros Verheyde

Chief editor of the B2 site. Graduated in European law from the University of Paris I Pantheon Sorbonne and listener to the 65th session of the IHEDN (Institut des Hautes Etudes de la Défense Nationale. Journalist since 1989, founded B2 - Bruxelles2 in 2008. EU/NATO correspondent in Brussels for Sud-Ouest (previously West-France and France-Soir).